Algernon Sydney Sullivan Medal

The Algernon Sydney Sullivan Medal was established by the New York Southern Society in 1925 and at Mercer in 1926 in memory of Sullivan, a great humanitarian and philanthropist.  The medal is presented to the graduating senior who best exemplifies excellence in character, leadership, service to the community, and spiritual values. 


A graduating student in the College of Liberal Arts, Stetson School of Business, Tift College of Education, School of Engineering, or Townsend School of Music (must have completed final two years of academic study in residency on Mercer-Macon campus).


The criteria used to determine the winner are as follows:

  • Scholastic Achievement (represents 40% of the evaluation – The degree of scholastic achievement shall be considered but not as the primary criterion.)
  • Scholastic performance sufficient to place the candidate in the top thirty-five percent of the graduating class at the time of selection. 
  • Personal Qualities (represents 60% of the evaluation –The candidate’s leadership qualities and commitment to community service are to receive the primary emphasis in the selection process.) 
  • General excellencies of character and conduct 
  • Leadership qualities in campus affairs 
  • Service to the community 
  • Sense of spiritual values 
  • Community service for which the candidate receives academic credit or payment (stipend or salary) is not necessarily to be considered, but may be evaluated on an individual basis

Award Winners:

2019    Elliza Guta

2018    Olatorera Aina

2017    Timothy Martin Lewis
2016    Austin Harrison
2015    Caroline Cooper
2014    Dalton Turner
2013    Kaitlyn Schmitt
2012    Jordan Locke
2011    Alice Crisp
2010    Hannah Vann
2009    Sarah Emily Hedgis
2008    Elizabeth Carson
2007    Stacy Harwell
2006    William Emerson
2005    Josh Rogers
2004    Tara Jameson
2003    Jennifer Cole
2002    Sonal Dilip Patel
2001    Michael Van Cise
2000    Ryan Turner
1999    Michelle Watson
1998    John Sawyer
1997    Kisha Morris
1996    Clay Thomas
1995    LeAnna Rensi
1994    Tina LaBell
1993    Nicole Glisson
1992    Rick Burnett, Eric O'Dell
1991    Hugh Lawson III
1990    Lynn Creech
1989    Shawn Lanier
1988    Karen Jacobs
1987    Fletcher McElreath
1986    Karyn Langhorne
1985    Cathy Carlisle
1984    Bonnie (Boo) McCue
1983    Bob Waugh
1982    Lynn Walker
1981    Catherine M. Hendricks
1980    Linda S. Hester
1979    Donna R. Jones
1978    Jan A. Neson
1977    William J. Marett, Cindy G. Wynn
1976    George W. Rumsey III, Clenise A. Stonitsch
1975    Neil E. Crain, Martha H. Ham
1974    Marilyn F. Allgood, Watson E. Meeks, Jr.
1973    Bruce A. Gandy, Nancy D. Wood
1972    Herbert J. Gordy, Terry L. Meadors
1971    Anne Longman, David M. Willis
1970    Dorothy A. Ripley, Allen F. Wallace
1969    Rosa M. Babbitt, James E. Bacon
1968    Sandra M. Harrison, David E. Hudson
1967    Jacob Beil, Pamela M. Smith
1966    Betty J. Freeman, John R. Sikes
1965    John C. Harris, Linda L. Tabor
1964    John N. Deal, Sandra G. Watson
1963    Dolores L. Hightower, Julius W. Lowrance
1962    Mary L. Bradley, Floyd H. Sanders
1961    Olin D. Thompson, Glenda L. Tanner
1960    Nancy E. Childs, Walter C. Hendrix
1959    Norman K. Carter, Jr., Sarah L. Cordell
1958    Janet L. Balcolm, Woodrow Richardson, Jr.
1957    Barbara Beindorf, Herbert C. Cottrell, Jr.
1956    Albert S. Johnson, Nancy J. Yates
1955    Ernestine M. Copas, Joseph M. Hendricks
1954    Wade D. Hiltabidel, Leila C. McEleveen
1952    Harold Sangster, Sarah R. Hollingsworth
1951    Robert B. Render, Sarah A. Black
1950    Edwin L. Cliburn, Mary S. Hartley
1949    C. Ray Brewster, Laurie V. Shannan
1948    Woodrow W. Richardson, Rosemary A. Ricks
1947    Pearl Holmes
1946    Garnie Brand
1945    Malcolm Lester, Martha N. Lewis
1944    Thomas C. Kendrick
1943    Alda Cobb
1942    Nathaniel L. Kaderly, Helen F. Klinefelter
1941    Norman Shands
1940    Sam E. Lowe
1934    Mary B. Hyde
1933    Charles E. Lawrence