Louie D. Newton General Excellence Medal

The Louie D. Newton General Excellence Medal is presented to the graduating student who best exemplifies scholastic achievement, personal integrity and character, service to the campus community and a commitment to spiritual values. The award is named in honor of Dr. Newton, former Mercer professor, Christian journalist, distinguished pastor and renowned denominational leader.


A graduating student in the College of Liberal Arts, Stetson School of Business, Tift College of Education, School of Engineering, or Townsend School of Music (must have completed final two years of academic study in residency on Mercer-Macon campus).


The criteria used to determine the winner is as follows:

  • Scholastic Achievement (represents 50% of evaluation)
  • A general love of learning and a scholastic performance sufficient to qualify for graduation with honors – not to be interpreted as departmental honors. 
  • Personal Qualities (represents 50% of evaluation) 
  • Personal integrity and character
  • Service to campus community 
  • Service to the community 
  • Commitment to spiritual values 
  • Community service for which the candidate receives academic credit or payment (stipend or salary) is not necessarily to be considered, but may be evaluated on an individual basis

Award Winners:

2019   Bryan Parker Laue

2018   Shane Buerster

2017    Alayna Celeste Williams
2016    Min Hyun Oh
2015    Raymond Partolan
2014    Lyndssey Autry
2013    Brittany Robinson
2012    Trenton White
2011    Andrew Lockwood
2010    Kathryn Doornbos
2009    Billie Barker Pritchard
2008    John Dortch
2007    Christy Webb
2006    Nicole Nather
2005    John Carroll
2004    Cassandra Shular
2003    Danielle Drury
2002    Kenneth Anthony Taft
2001    Stephanie Shelton
2000    Brian Varisco
1999    Blake Couey
1998    Rob Saxon
1997    Michelle Clendening
1996    Ginna Campbell
1995    Jae Feather, Scott Key
1994    Brian Suckman
1993    Rob Buest
1992    Mike Rafter
1991    William Smith
1991    Dee Nadkarni
1990    Shelle Wilson
1989    Joseph Bean
1988    Chris Dockins
1987    Rhonda Moorman
1986    Allen Anderson
1985    Dusty Kornegay
1984    Janet Quick
1983    Barbara Jean Hendricks
1982    Fallaw Sowell
1981    Warren R. Abel
1980    Linda S. Hester
1979    Ronald C. Gay
1978    George B. Connell, II